通过投资获得保加利亚公民身份的依据是《保加利亚公民身份法》。2021 年初,保加利亚议会部分修订了关于通过投资获得保加利亚公民身份的立法,将投资重点转移到资本市场和交易所交易基金 (ETF) 等投资上。 

其中一种新方案允许投资于可转让证券集体投资企业 (UCITS)——在保加利亚也称为集体投资计划。对于非欧洲投资者来说,这类基金可能被称为共同基金。这些基金或集体投资计划由持牌基金经理管理,其投资策略见招股书。 

什么是交易所交易基金? 

很多投资者熟悉的交易所交易基金也可以集体投资计划形式进行组织,因此符合保加利亚 CBI 法律的要求。交易所交易基金于 20 世纪 90 年代初首次在北美推出,允许临时投资者进入他们可能无法进入的市场。例如,按照购买力平价计算,目前(截至 2021 年第一季度)这些资产在美国的价值约为美国国内生产总值的四分之一。

由此使交易所交易基金成为投资者可能希望探索的投资工具之一。

在《经济学人》一篇关于交易所交易基金的文章之后的通信中,一位记者写道:“交易所交易基金带来的是更低的费用、更高的透明度和更少的华尔街推销员。很少有人会流泪。”(Patrick Cleary, Letters)。

虽然这种投资模式在美国和西欧受到了许多投资者的关注,但在保加利亚的历史和接受程度较低,从国际经验中学到的东西可能不会以完全相同的方式适用。  

例如,交易所交易基金投资于特定指数或行业的公司股票或者大宗商品。根据《保加利亚共和国境内外国人法》,为了获得保加利亚公民身份资格,交易所交易基金必须满足某些要求:

  1. 交易所交易基金的资产净值至少应为 BGN 5m(或 ~EUR 2.5m);
  2. 交易所交易基金应该在保加利亚证券交易所——Sofia (BSE-Sofia) 进行[独家?]投资。

如果投资者正在考虑投资交易所交易基金,但不确定这支基金是否符合要求,请联系我们,了解我们如何帮助您。

从哪里购买交易所交易基金?

交易所交易基金可以在不同的证券交易所或多边交易机构购买。由此产生一个问题?

我可以使用现有的非保加利亚银行/经纪公司投资合格交易所交易基金吗?

可以使用投资者现有的保加利亚境外银行/经纪公司购买交易所交易基金。 

但是,修订版《保加利亚共和国境内外国人法》对持有投资提出了某些额外要求。保加利亚中央存款机构(一家由金融监督委员会监管并获得履行公共职能任命的公司)必须向保加利亚投资署提供持股相关信息。 

在保加利亚购买投资时,该信息由相关银行/经纪公司/基金经理提交给中央存款机构,中央存款机构拥有关于投资持有人的具体信息。 

如果投资者正在考虑开始这一流程,可能希望首先和我们联系,确保符合外国人法的要求。请联系我们与专家进一步讨论。 

交易所交易基金投资金额

标准通道投资要求单笔投资 BGN 1m (~EUR 500k)。 

多数申请者倾向于快速通道,投资者需要初次投资 BGN 1m (~EUR 500k),也可以加倍投资 BGN 2m,或在持有有效永久居留证后至少 1 年内的任何时候投资 ~EUR 1m。这样可以加速获得入籍资格,在第二次购买之日即可符合条件。

预审批流程

在投资之前,通过投资获得公民身份的申请人必须通过保加利亚政府的预审批流程,包括满足已确定的资金来源(而不是财富来源)要求。我们很乐意就此向您提供建议,请联系我们

NBLO——您的保加利亚公民身份律师

New Balkans Law Office 是一家精品律师事务所,在保加利亚和欧盟移民和国籍法方面拥有丰富的实践经验。我们广泛处理公民身份申请,包括通过投资获得保加利亚公民身份通过原籍获得保加利亚公民身份通过居住地获得保加利亚公民身份、欧盟/保加利亚公民家庭成员定居以及其他公民身份和移民相关事宜。

我们通过投资帮助了许多高净值人士获得保加利亚公民身份,目前,我们的客户成功率达 100%。

如需了解更多信息,请发送电子邮件至 或通过联系联系我们。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 linkedin

更多文章

Bulgarian Citizenship by Investment is based on provisions in the Bulgarian Citizenship Act. In early 2021, the Bulgarian Parliament partially amended the legislation governing Bulgarian citizenship by investment, moving the focus of the investment onto capital markets and investments such as in exchange-traded funds (ETF). 

One of these new options allows investment in Undertakings for the Collective Investment in Transferable Securities (UCITS) also known as Collective Investment Schemes in Bulgaria. To non-European investors, this type of funds may be familiar as mutual funds. Those funds or Collective Investment Schemes are managed by licensed Fund Managers and have an investment strategy which they set out in their prospectus.

What is an ETF? 

ETFs which many investors are familiar with can also be organised as a Collective Investment Scheme and thus be compatible with the requirements of CBI law in Bulgaria. ETFs were introduced in North America for the first time in the early 1990s and are perceived to allow casual investors access to markets which they may otherwise not find accessible. The current (as of Q1 2021) value of these in the US, for example, is believed to be about a quarter of the size of the US GDP on a PPP basis.

Thus making the ETF one of the investment vehicles that investors might wish to explore.

In correspondence which followed a piece covering ETFs in the Economist, a correspondent to the paper wrote: “With ETFs, the end result is lower fees, more transparency and fewer Wall Street pitchmen. Few tears will be shed.” (Patrick Cleary, Letters).

While in the US and Western Europe, this mode of investment has received a lot of investor attention, it has had less of a history and take-up in Bulgaria and what you may expect from international experience may not apply in quite the same way.  

ETFs invest in shares of companies in a particular index or sector, or in commodities, for example. In order to qualify for the Bulgarian citizenship, an ETF must meet certain requirements as per the Foreigners in the Republic of Bulgaria Act:

  1. The ETF should have a Net-Asset Value (NAV) of at least BGN 5 mln (or ~EUR 2,5 mln); AND
  2. The ETF should invest [exclusively?] in shares or corporate bonds of companies listed on the Bulgarian Stock Exchange – Sofia (BSE-Sofia).

If investors are considering investing in an ETF, but are not sure if that ETF meets the requirements, please contact us to see how we can assist you.

Where to purchase the ETF?

ETFs can be purchased on different stock exchanges or multilateral trading facilities. Thus raising the question?

Can I make the investment into an eligible ETF outside of Bulgaria using my existing bank/broker?

A purchase of an ETF outside of Bulgaria using the investor’s existing bank/brokerage is possible. 

However, the amended Foreigners in the Republic of Bulgaria introduced certain additional requirements about the holding of the investment. The Bulgarian Central Depository (a company supervised by the Financial Supervision Commission and appointed to perform a public function) is required to provide information about the holdings to the Bulgarian Investment Agency. 

When purchasing the investment in Bulgaria, this information is presented to the Central Depository by the relevant bank/brokerage/fund manager and the Central Depository has specific information about the holder of the investment. 

If investors are considering starting the process, they may wish to contact us first to make sure that requirements of the Foreigners Act are met. Please contact us to further discuss this with our experts. 

ETF Investment Amount

The Standard Track investment requires a single investment of BGN 1 mln (~EUR 500k). 

Under the Fast Track, preferred by the majority of applicants, investors need to initially invest BGN 1 mln (~EUR 500k) and can double this for a total investment of BGN 2 mln or ~EUR 1 mln at any point after holding a valid permanent residence permit for at least 1 year. This has the effect of accelerating their eligibility for naturalisation to the date of the 2nd purchase.

Pre-Approval Process

Before investment, the applicant for citizenship by investment must go through a pre-approval process with the Bulgarian Government including meet the requirements for an identified source of funds (rather than source of wealth). We will be happy to advise you on this,  please contact us.

NBLO – Your Bulgarian Citizenship Lawyers

New Balkans Law Office is a boutique law firm with a strong practice in Bulgarian and EU immigration and nationality law. We deal extensively with applications for citizenship including Bulgarian citizenship by investment, Bulgarian citizenship by origin and Bulgarian citizenship by residence, settlement of family members of EU/Bulgarian citizens, and other citizenship and immigration related matters.

We have helped a number of high-net-worth individuals in obtaining Bulgarian citizenship by investment and today our clients are 100% successful.

For more information, please contact us at: or via our contact form.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on linkedin

More publications